2017 Pushcart Nominees

Robert Wallace for “The Disobedience of Love”
Heather Adams for “The Disappearance of Audrey Thorpe”

Allen Guest for “The Space Between”
Michael Lythgoe for “Ash Wednesday at the Headwaters”


Rosemarie Dombrowski for “17 Letters”
Wilma Reitz for “Foggy Mountain Breakdown”


SCWA’s Scholarship Winners!

Kasie Whitener SCWA Member
Kathleen Nalley South Carolina Resident

Full Scholarship Packages – valued at:
$407 for SC Residents and $ 387 for SCWA Members


Carrie McCray Memorial Literary Award Winners!

The Petigru Review had more submissions than ever. Almost 200! Poetry had the most entries with Novel First Chapter coming in second with roughly one-fifth of that number.

Novel First Chapter


1st-The Disappearance of Audrey Thorpe Heather Adams 
2nd-The Star I Flee Irena Tervo  
3rd-Center of Gravity Patricia Brandon  

Finalists (Listed Alphabetically by Title)

The Back Gate Mike Lee
The Betwixt Lisa Glisson
Diamondlife Thomas Sabino
The Manicurist Kathryn Etters Lovatt
Rook Stephen Eoannou  
The Travels of Quinn O’Neil Sasscer Hill  
Whispers T. Michael Manos 
Yesteryear Stephen Eoannou  



1st-Light Captured Bob Strother  
2nd-The Disobedience of Love Robert Wallace  
3rd-Suzi Douglas’ Search for Her Muse Carolyn Hartley  



1st-17 Letters Rosemarie Dombrowski  
2nd-A Fitting Answer Melissa Fast  
3rd-Messenger Paddy Reid  


The Shifting Winds of El Niño and the Greatest Game on Earth 
Kerri Devine



1st-Moon Sonnet, After Chagall Michael Lythgoe  
2nd-The Bee Mauricio Novoa  
3rd-Auribus Teneo Lupum (I hold the Wolf by the Ears) Amanda Rachelle Warren  


Plein Air Painting (Vox Humana) 
James Raff 

Prizes will be awarded at The Petigru Review Launch Party held in conjunction with the Opening Reception of The BIG DREAM Conference, and/or mailed to winners unable to attend at the close of the conference.

Note: All entries were read blind and scored by independent judges. Only the top scoring pieces were chosen as winners.




August 2017

Dear SCWA Members:

Our esteemed immediate Past-President, Robert Lackey, found it necessary to step down from the Board of Directors. Following his strong beginning, I’d like to expand on my role and the role of your Board: it is to listen—to you, our members—and to act.

We all share a passion. A passion to write and share. As board members, we share our time away from family and our own creative pursuits to promote YOU, our members. The SCWA is all about you. That said, there are currently nine board members. Our by-laws permit up to 13, so if you have a strong interest, skills, and the time to devote to the concerns of members, please consider applying to become a board member. If you would like to discuss it, feel free to call or email me or any member of the board; contact information can be found on the Board of Directors page and the Contact page.

Our first board meeting took place earlier this year and our second, which included a face-to-face meeting with a chapter, took place July 24 in Columbia. We plan to meet at least twice more with chapters in 2017.

In the last three months:

  • A Webmaster has been hired and the website extensively updated.
  • A Publicist has been hired to promote members’ work.
  • The SCWA monthly blog was launched.
  • The Quill is online.
  • Also, the SCWA Twitter page at #SCwritersassociation, replacing the previous Twitter page under the old SCWW name, was launched.

There is STILL TIME to submit your application for a Scholarship to the Big Dream Conference, a terrific bargain for two lucky members! The deadline has been extended to September 15.

Let us know how YOU believe your Board of Directors can better serve you!

Thank you,

Carol-Ann Rudy

President of the Board of Directors for the South Carolina Writers Association